Rachel’s Challenge Visits Our Schools

This entry was posted in News on by .

Rachel’s Challenge came to the Tippecanoe Valley schools and the Tippecanoe Valley community September 2-4. Rachel’s Challenge is a national non-profit organization dedicated to creating safe, connected school environments where learning and teaching are maximized. Based on the life and writing of Rachel Scott, the first victim of the Columbine tragedy in 1999, Rachel’s Challenge provides a continual improvement process for schools designed to awaken the learner in every child. Rachel’s Challenge motivated students, staff and community to start and sustain a chain reaction of kindness and compassion that transforms our schools and communities!

Tippecanoe Valley Announces Revision to Master Calendar

This entry was posted in News on by .

The Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation announces a revision to the 2014-2015 master calendar. The Staff Development Day scheduled for Monday, January 5, 2015, will be moved to Monday, October 27, 2014. As a result of this change to the master calendar, school will be in session for students on Monday, January 5, 2015. School will not be in session for students on Monday, October 27, 2014.

During the 2013 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed Public Law 286. The new law required the Indiana State Board of Education to review, adopt and implement new K-12 college and career readiness standards that are aligned with post-secondary educational expectations. This was to be accomplished prior to July 1, 2014.  Indiana teachers are expected to implement Indiana’s new College & Career Ready Academic Standards during the 2014-2015 school year. Accompanying the new academic standards will be new student assessments. The Spring 2015 ISTEP+ English/Language Arts and Mathematics Assessments, as well as the Spring 2015 Algebra 1 and English 10 End of Course Assessments, will assess students on the new academic standards.

The Staff Development Day scheduled for October 27, 2014, will be used by Tippecanoe Valley educators to focus on the successful implementation of the new K-12 College & Career Ready Academic Standards and the new ISTEP+ and End of Course Assessments.

Questions about Indiana’s new College & Career Ready Academic Standards and the new ISTEP+ and End of Course Assessments may be directed to the building principal of any Tippecanoe Valley school.

Tippecanoe Valley High School Distinguished Alumni Class of 2014

This entry was posted in News on by .

Attached is a digital picture of the Tippecanoe Valley High School Distinguished Alumni Class of 2014. The nine-member class was honored Thursday evening, September 18 during a formal dinner at Tippecanoe Valley Middle School. Induction Day was Friday, September 19 at TVHS. The inductees gathered at 7:30 a.m. for a “Welcome Breakfast,” where each was introduced to their student liaison for the day. Following the breakfast each inductee made four separate presentations, in which they shared with students about the career and life experiences that led to their selection. Included in each presentation was information about the inductee’s time as a student at TVHS and how their high school experiences impacted their future. The inductees spent the student lunch periods in the cafeteria speaking with individuals and small groups of students. The afternoon consisted of individual interviews conducted and recorded by The Rochester Telephone Company (RTC) for future showing on RTC’s local community cable television channel. The inductees were honored at halftime of the home football game, where each was presented with a beautiful commemorative plaque.

During Thursday evening’s TVHS Distinguished Alumni Dinner, each inductee was asked to recognize a Valley K-12 educator(s) that made a significant impact on his/her life. The following educators were recognized: Eloise Eberly, Jan Mills, Doug Heinold, Scott Bibler, Dianne Pearson, Lois Buss, Terry Screeton, Shelly Walgamuth, Beth (Barr) Henriques, Duane Burkhart, Julia Teel, Lynette Shoemaker, Duane Smith and Lynn (Caraway) Howie.

Seated (left to right) are the inductees in to the Class of 2014: Amy (Heckaman) Parker, Brooke Smalley, Dr. Katti (Stroup) Sneed, DeShawn (VanDeWater) Wert, and Diana (Erp) Nettleton.  Standing (left to right) are Richard Terpstra, Andrew Heckaman, Adam Heckaman, and Mike Yazel.

We can all be very proud of these TVHS graduates who have gone on to lead successful lives while making substantial contributions to their chosen field of work or having provided outstanding service to their community, state or country.