Teacher Appreciation Week –Nominations Accepted

This entry was posted in News on by .

Teacher Appreciation Week – Nominate Educators

During this year’s upcoming Teacher Appreciation Week – May 2-6th – the U.S. Department of Education wants to say thank you to some great teachers. Help us reach our goal by recommending a friend, a colleague, your child’s teacher or any teacher who inspired you! There are no other criteria beyond it being someone who YOU think deserves some thanks. Tell us about a teacher you want to highlight along with a few details about why and how we can reach them. We hope to directly contact each nominee, but cannot guarantee that we will be able to be in touch during that week, thus we may also use this information for additional teacher highlighting purposes throughout the year. We look forward to your recommendations and thank you for your help in this endeavor!!

Melissa Moritz

Deputy Director Office of STEM
U.S. Dept of Education



Pillar Award Winners, Spring 2016

This entry was posted in News on by .

During the March meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation, three staff members were honored.  Akron Elementary School Instructional Coach Inga Omondi was the recipient of the World Class Teacher Award.  When asked to offer a few words about Mrs. Omondi, Akron Elementary School Principal Chrissy Mills stated, “Inga Omondi is a very dedicated instructional coach for students and staff at Akron Elementary. She works hard in making sure teachers get the professional development and materials they need to be successful in their classroom programs such as Readers, Writers, and Math Workshop. I greatly appreciate the dedication Mrs. Omondi has for Akron Elementary.”

Mentone Elementary School Instructional Assistant Aggie Prater was the recipient of the Pillar Award for Outstanding Support Staff.  When asked about Mrs. Prater, Mentone Elementary School Principal Randy Dahms offered, “Aggie Prater works at Mentone Elementary school as an instructional assistant (paraprofessional) in a first grade classroom.  In working at Mentone these last few months, I have been surprised at the commitment level of this particular staff member.  On her own time, Mrs. Prater takes the time to organize Mentone’s entire PBIS System.   Friday Morning Live is a monthly program where students are rewarded for exhibiting characteristics of being respectful, responsible, and safe.  The students are awarded Bulldog Bucks and are honored on a monthly basis.  Mrs. Prater has organized and run this entire program….Keeping track of data, making sure the students certificates are ready, contacting outside individuals, organizing and running the Bulldog Bizarre where students get to spend their Bulldog Bucks, and doing a wonderful job in the classroom with the students and teacher she works with on a daily basis.”

“Every successful organization has a collection of committed individuals who go the extra mile.  Mrs. Prater is a very important staff member at Mentone Elementary School who is deserving of this recognition.”

Matt Cavender, head custodian of the Burket Educational Center and a member of the T.V.S.C. maintenance staff was also honored with the Pillar Award for Outstanding Support Staff.  When asked to make a few comments about Mr. Cavender, Burket Administrator and T.V.S.C. Director of Special Services Meagan Wilks stated, “Mr. Cavender takes great pride in the care and appearance of the Burket Educational Center.  He also has strong people skills and is welcoming and friendly with the Burket staff and visitors.  He strives to build positive relationships with the Burket students.  Mr. Cavender goes above and beyond to show the public the Burket Educational Center is a great place to be.”

According to T.V. S.C. Director of Maintenance Todd Glenn, “Mr. Cavender consistently displays a ‘can-do’ attitude.  He works well with everyone – teachers, administrators, and co-workers.  Mr. Cavender represents himself and Tippecanoe Valley very well.  He has taken a lead role in implementing several energy saving projects which will save the school corporation thousands of dollars for years to come.”

Each was presented with a framed certificate of appreciation and a gift card.

 Pictured left to right are Matt Cavender, Aggie Prater, Inga Omondi, and TVSC School Board President Dave O’Brien.