Tippecanoe Valley to Host Community Meetings For Akron Elementary School Project

This entry was posted in News on by .

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Tippecanoe Valley to Host Community Meetings
for the Akron Elementary School Project

Patrons of the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation are encouraged to attend either of two upcoming community meetings to learn about a potential building project at Akron Elementary School. The first community meeting will be held in the Akron Elementary School Gym on Tuesday, January 13. A second community meeting will be held in the Mentone Elementary School Large Group Instruction Room on Thursday, January 15. Both meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and will last approximately one hour. Each community meeting will feature a presentation on the need for renovation and construction at Akron Elementary School, the multiple options for renovation and construction under consideration, the anticipated cost of each option, and the financial impact of the project. A tour of the current facility at Akron will follow the January 13th presentation.

Anyone unable to attend a community meeting may contact Akron Elementary School Principal Chrissy Mills (574-893-4646, ext. 405) or Tippecanoe Valley Superintendent of Schools Brett Boggs (574-353-7741, ext. 1006) for additional information.


Viking Guard to Preform at AutoZone Liberty Bowl

This entry was posted in News on by .

Update—Friday December 26, 2014  The Viking Guard are on their way.  They loaded up the bus and pulled out of the HS parking lot this morning a little before 8:00 am for Memphis, TN, where they will be performing in the halftime show with six other HS bands and the country band Big and Rich in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl.  Game time is Monday, December 29th, at 2:00pm…don’t miss them in action.  A few more pictures can be found on our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/TippecanoeValley.


The Viking Guard and six other high school bands from Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, and Ohio will join forces with the country band Big and Rich to put on an exciting and memorable halftime show for 60,000 fans on Monday, December 29th.  The kickoff for the AutoZone Liberty Bowl, featuring Texas A&M versus West Virginia, is at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

In addition to the halftime performance, Valley band members will experience the incredible music history of Memphis while visiting the Sun Records Studio, the Rock-n-Soul Museum, and Graceland.

Please join us in wishing the members of the Tippecanoe Valley High School Band and TVHS Band Director Janell Riner the best of luck and pray for their safe travel as they head to Memphis, Tennessee, on December 26th to perform at the AutoZone Liberty Bowl!

Mentone Elementary head Cook Honored

This entry was posted in News on by .

Mentone Elementary School Head Cook Nikki Rutherford was honored by the Tippecanoe Valley School Board during its December meeting as the recipient of the Pillar Award for Outstanding Staff.  The Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation (TVSC) has many wonderful individuals among its classified staff who, like Mrs. Rutherford, work very hard and receive little recognition.  Mrs. Rutherford, recognized for her outstanding dedication, is currently in her 15th year of serving Mentone students, staff, and the community.


Pictured is TVSC Superintendent Brett Boggs presenting Nikki Rutherford with a framed certificate of recognition.


Retiring Board Members Recognized for Service

This entry was posted in News on by .

Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation Superintendent Brett Boggs presented plaques of appreciation to retiring Board members Rod Eaton and Mark Wise at Monday night’s board meeting.  Eaton served on the Board for 16.5 years and Wise for 20.5 years, during which time the corporation saw the completion of the new Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, a new bus garage, major renovations and new construction at Mentone Elementary School, the creation of the Burket Educational Center and Alternative Education Program, a Guaranteed Energy Savings Project at Akron Elementary School, major renovations and new construction at Tippecanoe Valley High School, a new wastewater treatment plant on the high school/middle school campus, the construction of a multi-purpose facility – concession stand, ticket booth, and restrooms – at the main entrance to the high school football field/track, a Guaranteed Energy Savings Project at the Burket Educational Center, and the construction of a wind turbine on the high school/middle school campus.


Pictured (L to R) are Rod Eaton, Mark Wise, and Brett Boggs.


Tippecanoe Valley’s Raymond Jarvis Nominated as a U.S. Presidential Scholar

This entry was posted in News on by .


Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Tippecanoe Valley’s Raymond Jarvis Nominated as a U.S. Presidential Scholar

Information provided by Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz on Monday, December 1, indicates the Indiana Department of Education has nominated five male and five female students for consideration as U.S. Presidential Scholar Students.  One of those students is Tippecanoe Valley High School Senior Raymond Jarvis.  Raymond is the son of Raymond D. Jarvis and Donna E. Roop of rural Claypool.

The students nominated as U.S. Presidential Scholar Students have demonstrated outstanding scholarship, and in some cases also had to overcome special challenges while still achieving high academic success.  The Presidential Scholars Program was established by President Lyndon Johnson in 1964 and since that time has honored more than 6,500 outstanding high school seniors.  The 2015 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be selected by the Commission on Presidential Scholars and will receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion.

This year’s nominees are:  Jacob D. Hall, Boonville High School – William Trevor Jones, North White Jr/Sr High School – Evan Keiser, Terre Haute South Vigo High School – Logan Caldwell, Carroll High School – Raymond Jarvis, Tippecanoe Valley High School – Dezaray Barr, East Noble High School – Tennie Worrel, Warsaw Community High School – Erin Biddle, Western Boone Jr/Sr High School – Lindsay Lutgring, Perry Central High School – and Alexmar Nin-Velez, Bloomington North High School.