## TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

January 18, 2021 Tippecanoe Valley High School 8345 South State Road 19 Akron, Indiana 6:00 p.m.

## **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order by President Tom Bauters and revealed all members were present. Also present was Blaine Conley, superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary and student representatives, Jaeda Carpenter and Mackenzie Costello.

Mr. Bauters announced the upcoming meetings: February 11, 2021, Public Work Session, Jeff Shriver Viking Room, 6:00 p.m.; February 15, 2021, Regular Meeting, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, 6:00 p.m.; March 11, 2021, Public Work Session, Jeff Shriver Viking Room, 6:00 p.m., March 15, 2021, Regular Meeting, Tippecanoe Valley High School, 6:00 p.m.; April 15, 2021, Public Work Session, Jeff Shriver Viking Room, 6:00; April 19, 2021, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following donors were recognized:

- St. Joseph Church, Boomerang Backpacks, \$100
- Instrumental Machine and Development, Inc, Viking Vittles, \$5,000
- Good Oil Company, School Safety, \$2,000
- Splendor Boats, Viking Vittles, \$2,500
- Early Learning Coalition of Kosciusko County, (3) Surface Laptops, \$2,000

Micah Lukens provided an update on the alternative education program at Burket Educational Center.

Cheney Canada, Sidney Peterson, Ava Rich and Shane Wood were recognized for being named to the Rising Stars Class of 2022.

Meagan Wilks, Inga Omondi and Lori Tilden-Geiger provided an overview of the professional learning day on January 4, 2021.

Student Reports-Jaeda Carpenter noted that softball and volleyball open gyms have started. The Student Council has started to plan for the upcoming Riley Week and the final blood drive is scheduled for March. Mackenzie added that winter sports are in full swing with girls' basketball senior night scheduled for Thursday, January 21<sup>st</sup>.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the December 8, 2020 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the December 10, 2020 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the December 14, 2020 regular meeting
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the December 14, 2020 executive session
- Approval of the hiring of the following personnel:

Hannah Eastwood, Custodian, TVHS

Breanna Krueger, Custodian, TVHS

Michael Inglehearn, Custodian, TVHS

Keaton Bell, Special Needs Teacher, TVMS

Krista Neace, Computer Lab Tech, Mentone Elementary

Jordan Shepler, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary

Approved the following extra-curricular assignments:

Alex Rockhill, 5th Grade Girls' Basketball Coach, Mentone Elementary

Approved the resignation for the following personnel:

Robert Mace, Custodian, TVHS

Tania Grimes, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment, TVSC

Devin Howard, Custodian, TVHS

Jaime Frantom, Custodian, TVHS Sarah Warner, Special Education Teacher, TVMS Robert Reid, Bus Driver, TVSC

Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the above listed consent agenda and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously

Mr. Conley reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. David Lash made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Adam Heckaman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: None

New Business:

The Board was asked to approve the following donations:

- St. Joseph Church, Boomerang Backpacks, \$100
- Instrumental Machine and Development, Inc, Viking Vittles, \$5,000
- Good Oil Company, School Safety, \$2,000
- Splendor Boats, Viking Vittles, \$2,500
- Early Learning Coalition of Kosciusko County, (3) Surface Laptops, \$2,000

Adam Heckaman made a motion to approve the donation and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to approve the following resolutions:

- Resolution to Transfer Appropriations
- Transfer of Interest Resolution

David Lash made a motion to approve the resolutions and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Tom Bauters, President
Adam Heckaman, Vice President
David Lash, Secretary
Todd Hoffman, Board Member
Aaron Zolman, Board Member