TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

July 20, 2020 Mentone Elementary Large Group Instruction Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 6:00 p.m.

Minutes

The meeting was called to order by President Aaron Zolman and revealed all members present including Blaine Conley, superintendent and Jessica McFarland, recording secretary.

Mr. Zolman announced the upcoming meetings: August 13, 2020, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; August 17, 2020, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 17, 2020, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; September 21, 2020, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 6:00 p.m.; October 8, 2020, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; October 12, 2020, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 6:00 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

Tania Grimes introduced the following teachers of the year for TVSC:

Chris Rassi, Akron Elementary Caroline Day, Mentone Elementary Kyler Kearby, TVMS Beth Landis, TVHS

She then announced Caroline Day as the overall teacher of the year for Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation. Caroline Day will now be a nominee for the Indiana State Teacher of the Year for the 2020-2021 school year.

The following new employees were introduced:

Derek Miller, PLTW Engineering Teacher, TVHS Lacey Buck, Chemistry Teacher, TVHS Aaron Letinski, PE and Strength & Conditioning Coach, TVHS Lacey Wise, Guidance Counselor, TVHS Jonathan Tinkey, Social Studies Teacher, TVHS Melissa Koch, 5th Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary Jennifer Randall, 3rd Grade Teacher, Akron Elementary Sarah Warner, Special Education Teacher, TVMS

Julie Baxter and Deb Tillman were recognized as 2020 retirees from the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the June 11, 2020 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the June 15, 2020 regular meeting
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the June 29, 2020 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the July 6, 2020 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the July 9, 2020 special board meeting
- Approval of the hiring of the following personnel:

Aaron Letinski, PE & Strength and Conditioning Coach, TVHS Sarah Warner, Special Education Teacher, TVMS

Jennifer Buck, 3rd Grade Teacher, Akron Elementary

Approved the following personnel changes:

Chaitra Adams, Kindergarten Teacher, Akron Elementary

Approved the resignation for the following personnel:

Hannah Durkes, 5th Grade Volleyball Coach, Mentone Elementary

Jeremy Bowers, Assistant Softball Coach, TVHS

Nikki Rutherford, Athletic Director, Mentone Elemetary

Katie Kauffman, PE & Health Teacher, TVMS

David Lash, 6th Grade Boys' Basketball Coach, TVMS

- Approved the maternity leave requests for the following personnel: Holly Sausaman, Preschool Teacher, Mentone Elementary Kayla Rassi, Music Teacher, Akron Elementary
- Approved Summer School Contracts for Elementary and Middle School
- Approved the following facility use contracts:

Beaver Dam Preschool

Jack & Jill Preschool

❖ Approved real estate lease with Kosciusko County Head Start/Cardinal Services

Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the above listed consent agenda and Tom Bauters seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously

Mr. Conley reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Adam Heckaman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. David Lash seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business:

Jim Mitterling provided an update for the Board with several pictures of the softball facility.

The Board was asked to approve the revisions to the 2020-2021 TVHS Athletic handbook. Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the handbook and Adam Heckaman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

New Business:

The Board was asked to approve the TVSC re-entry plan for the 2020-2021 school year. Tom Bauters made the motion to approve the plan and David Lash seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to approve the COVID-19 Universal Board Authority resolution. David Lash made a motion to approve the resolution and Adam Heckaman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Aaron Zolman, President
Adam Heckaman, Vice President
Tom Bauters, Secretary
Todd Hoffman, Board Member
David Lash, Board Member