## TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

June 17, 2019 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 6:00 p.m.

## **Minutes**

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Adam Heckaman.

The meeting was called to order by President Adam Heckaman and revealed all members present except for Aaron Zolman. Blaine Conley, superintendent, and Jessica McFarland, recording secretary were also present.

Mr. Heckaman announced the upcoming meetings: June 24, 2019, CPF Workshop, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; July 11, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; July 15, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; August 15, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; August 19, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 12, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; August 19, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 12, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 16, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; September 20, 2000

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following new employees were introduced:

- Anna Yates, Instructional Assistant, TVHS
- Brittany Watson, Special Education Teacher, TVHS
- ✤ Jake Everett, Assistant Principal, TVHS

Mr. Conley recognized the following retirees:

✤ Alissa Trippiedi, Math Teacher, TVHS

The following donors were recognized:

- Cargill, Bus Cameras, \$5,000
- Valley Connects/Indiana Suicide Prevention Coalition, \$7,100

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- Approval of the minutes of the May 16, 2019 executive session
- Approval of the minutes of the May 20, 2019 regular meeting
- Approved the hiring of the following personnel:

Margaret White, Special Education Teacher, TVMS Amy Luce, Instructional Assistant, TVHS Anna Yates, Instructional Assistant, TVHS Brittany Watson, Special Education Teacher, TVHS Danielle Reinholt, Physical Education Teacher, TVMS Jen Shank, Summer Speech Language Pathologist, TVSC Jake Everett, Assistant Principal, TVHS

 Approved the following extra-curricular assignments: Hannah Durkes, 5<sup>th</sup> Grade Girls' Volleyball Coach, Mentone Elementary Ashley Derf, JV Volleyball Coach, TVHS Thadd Mellott, Varsity Assistant Girls' Basketball Coach, TVHS
Approved the resignation for the following personnel:

Approved the resignation for the following personnel: Ron Bruner, Custodian, TVHS Chelsea Horban, Instructional Assistant, Akron Elementary Sorayda Guzman Baca, Instructional Assistant, Akron Elementary Kayla Landis, Cook, Mentone Elementary Mckenzie Murphy, Instructional Assistant, Akron Elementary Lindsay Smith, Instructional Assistant, TVHS Jennifer Millhoupt, Instructional Assistant, TVHS Melea Gearhart, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary Angela Sroufe, Instructional Assistant, Burket Educational Center Rebekah Parker, Physical Education Teacher, TVMS Emma Coppes, Special Education Teacher, TVHS Daryl Shoemaker, Varsity Softball Coach, TVHS

- Approved the retirement for the following personnel: Mira Leon, Head Custodian, TVHS
- Approved the maternity leave request for the following personnel: Rachel Haney, Kindergarten Teacher, Mentone Elementary
- Approved 2019 summer school contracts
- Approved 2019-2020 classified and bus driver salaries
- Approved food service vendors for 2019-2020

Tom Bauters wanted to pull item number 4-approval of ECA assignments. Todd Hoffman wanted to pull item number –approval of classified and bus drivers' salaries for 2019-2020. Adam Heckaman asked for a motion to approve the consent agenda less the aforementioned pulled items. Lacey Wise made the motion and Tom Bauters seconded the motion for the approval of the above consent agenda less the ECA assignments and salary increases. The motion carried unanimously

Todd Hoffman made a motion to approve the ECA assignments and Lacey Wise seconded the motion. The motion passed with a 3-0 vote with Tom Bauters abstaining from the vote.

Tom Bauters made a motion to approve 2019-2020 classified and bus driver salaries and Lace Wise seconded the motion. The motion passed with a 3-1 vote.

Mr. Conley reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Todd Hoffman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Lacey Wise seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business:

Mr. Conley asked the Board for approval of 2019-2020 lunch prices. The lunch prices were brought to the Board last month for initial consideration. Tom Bauters made a motion to approve the lunch prices and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

New Business:

The Board was asked to accept the following donations:

- Cargill, Bus Cameras, \$5,000
- Valley Connects/Indiana Suicide Prevention Coalition, \$7,100

Lacey Wise made the motion to accept the donations and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, President

Aaron Zolman, Vice President

Tom Bauters, Secretary

Todd Hoffman, Board Member

Lacey Wise, Board Member