TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

May 20, 2019 Akron Elementary School Cafeteria 202 N Rural Street Akron, Indiana 6:00 p.m.

Minutes

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the Akron Student Council.

The meeting was called to order by President Adam Heckaman and revealed all members along with Blaine Conley, superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary and student representatives Dylan Wood and Valeria Jimenez.

Mr. Heckaman announced the upcoming meetings: June 13, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; June 17, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; July 11, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; July 15, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; August 15, 2019, Public Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; August 19, 2019, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 6:00 p.m.; TVHS Graduation-Sunday, June 2, 2019. Baccalaureate at 2:00 p.m. & Commencement at 2:45 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following new employees were introduced:

❖ N/A

The following donors were recognized:

- Donors Choose, Metal Storage Cabinet
- Donors Choose, Dyson Cordless Stick Vacuum
- Donors Choose, Rocking Chair Wood Glider
- Donors Choose, Chest Freezer
- Donors Choose, Light Table
- Walmart Grant, Functional Skills Class
- Kerlin Bus Sales, Preschool Seat Restraints

The following groups were recognized from Akron Elementary:

- Student Council
- * Ryan Adams and Sydnie Reed, Student Council Advisors of the Year
- Math Team
- Spell Bowl Team

Ryan Adams and Sydnie Reed presented Chrissy Mills the IASC Elementary Division North East District Administrator of the Year award.

Mr. Conley recognized David Anweiler as the TVSC Pillar Award for Outstanding Support Staff recipient. Jenny Higgins was awarded the TVSC World Class Teacher Award.

Dylan Wood was recognized for serving two years as a school board student liaison.

Shayleigh Shriver was recognized as being the first ever student from TVHS to be named Regional Academic All Star by the Indiana Association of School Principals.

Mike Jones shared with the Board all the recent accomplishments of the TVHS FFA. The FFA recently has competed in the Area X Livestock Judging contest and the District Leadership contest.

Student Reports:

Valeria Jimenez reported track regionals will be Wednesday night and baseball sectionals will be next week. Dylan Wood reported that history students hosted 4th graders for Pioneer day at Prill School. He also reported that final exams will begin this week.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the April 11, 2019 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the April 15, 2019 regular meeting
- Approved the hiring of the following personnel:

Inga Omondi, Digital Integration Specialist, TVSC

Approved the resignation for the following personnel:

Chad Cripe, Principal, TVHS

Melissa Hall, Cook, TVHS

Monica Vick, Custodian, TVHS

Vera Whitted, Custodian, Akron Elementary

Daniel James, Mental Health Therapist, TVSC

Baylee Hibshman, Math Teacher, TVHS

Rolanda Reichard, Cook, TVHS

Jon Hutton, JV Volleyball Coach, TVHS

Jennifer Hallstrom, 5th Grade Girls' Volleyball, Mentone Elementary

Laren Molinari, Assistant Swim Coach, TVHS

❖ Approved the maternity leave request for the following personnel:

Holly Bradford, Preschool Teacher, Mentone Elementary

- Approved overnight field trip for TVHS wrestling team
- Approved overnight field trip for FFA State FFA Convention
- ❖ Approved out-of-state professional leave-Intro to Positive Education
- Approved out-of-state professional leave-Panorama
- Approved 2019 summer camps/programs
- Approved textbook fees for 2019-2020 school year
- Approved re-appointment of Kylene Crabb to Bell Memorial Public Library Board

Todd Hoffman wanted to pull the approval of Chad Cripe's resignation. Adam Heckaman asked for a motion to approve the consent agenda less the resignations. Todd Hoffman made the motion and Tom Bauters seconded the motion for the approval of the above consent agenda less the resignations. The motion carried unanimously

Aaron Zolman made a motion to approve the resignations and Tom Bauters seconded the motion. The motion passed with a 4-1 vote.

Mr. Conley reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Aaron Zolman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Lacey Wise seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business:

Mr. Conley asked the Board for approval of School Board Policy changes-Section 3. These changes were brought to the Board last month for initial consideration. Todd Hoffman made a motion to approve the policy changes to section 3, as presented. Tom Bauters seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley asked the Board's approval for the 2019-2020 TVHS student handbook. Tom Bauters made a motion to approve the handbooks and Lacey Wise seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

New Business:

The Board was asked to accept the following donations:

- Donors Choose, Metal Storage Cabinet, \$454
- Donors Choose, Dyson Cordless Stick Vacuum, \$280
- Donors Choose, Rocking Chair Wood Glider, \$491
- Donors Choose, Chest Freezer, \$191
- Donors Choose, Light Table, \$266.41
- ❖ Walmart Grant, Functional Skills Class, \$300
- Kerlin Bus Sales, Preschool Seat Restraints

Lacey Wise made the motion to accept the donations and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley presented to the Board for their initial consideration lunch prices for the 2019-2020 school year. The lunch prices will be brought to the Board in June for their approval.

Mr. Conley presented to the Board an amendment to the Naming of Facilities Policy. Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the motion and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Other New Business-The Board was asked to approve Brandon Kresca as the new TVHS Principal. Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve Mr. Kresca and Tom Bauters seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, President
Aaron Zolman, Vice President
Tom Bauters, Secretary
Todd Hoffman, Board Member
 Lacev Wise, Board Member