## TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

November 12, 2018 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 7:00 p.m.

## **Minutes**

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Adam Heckaman.

The meeting was called to order by President Adam Heckaman and revealed all members present along with Blaine Conley, superintendent, and Jessica McFarland, recording secretary. Student representatives Dylan Wood and Valeria Jimenez were also in attendance.

Mr. Heckaman announced the upcoming meetings: January 21, 2019, Regular Meeting, Burket Educational Center, 7:00 p.m.; February 11, 2019, Regular Meeting, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, 7:00 p.m.; March 11, 2019, Regular Meeting, Tippecanoe Valley High School, 7:00 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

Welcome and introduction of new staff members:

Dakota Snapp, Custodian, Mentone Elementary

## Student Reports:

Dylan Wood reported that the winter sports are all in full swing. The Miracle Tree gift handout will take place this week along with a Toys for Tots toy drive at the high school. Valeria reported that anyone bringing a toy to the game Friday night will get in free.

The TVHS Forestry Teams were recognized after they successfully competed in the Ancilla College of Agriculture Forestry Invitational.

Items from Visitors: Mike Yazel, Mentone Fire Chief, was on hand to publically thank TVSC for allowing the fire department to host the benefit dinner at the high school last month. The Mentone Fire Department has collected over \$90,000 for the families of the children involved in the school bus accident.

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the November 8, 2018 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the November 12, 2018 regular meeting
- Approved the hiring of the following personnel:

Tracey Holloway, Cook, TVMS Nichele Mahaska, Cook, TVHS

Nichele Manaska, Cook, 1 VI IS

Veronica Shufelt, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary Ericka McCullough, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary

Dakota Snapp, Custodian, Mentone Elementary

- Approved the maternity leave for the following personnel: Katie Yoars, 1<sup>st</sup> Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary
- Approved Classified and Administrative Salaries

Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the above consent items and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Bryan Murphy made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: None

New Business:

The Board was asked to accept the following donation and grants:

First Baptist Church, Library Donation, \$35

Kosciusko Endowment Youth Services (KEYS) Grants:

Lisa Lynch, TVHS, Supplies for Clay Slab Art Projects, \$699 Chris Rassi, Akron Elementary, Circuit Boards for Science Instruction, \$570 Jennifer Roden, TVHS, Supplies for Robotics Team, \$150 Cathy Olson, TVMS, Alternative Seating for Functional Life Skills Students, \$430 Lori Tilden-Geiger, TVMS, Supplies for Math Instruction, \$710 Lori Tilden-Geiger, Mentone Elementary, Dictionaries for 5<sup>th</sup> Grade Classes, \$600

Bryan Murphy made the motion to accept the donation and KEYS grants awarded and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Conley presented the Suicide Prevention and Awareness Plan for the Board's approval. Stan Miller made the motion to approve the plan and Bryan Murphy seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Lori Tilden-Geiger presented the Innovation Planning Grant from the IDOE for the Board's approval. Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the grant and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion.

Chad Cripe presented the graduation pathways for TVHS students for the Board's approval. Bryan Murphy made the motion to approve the graduation pathways and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion.

Each building principal gave a presentation of their school's letter grade awarded by the Indiana Department of Education. They also gave a brief overview on building level data used to obtain each letter grade.

Mr. Conley recognized school board members Bryan Murphy and Stan Miller for their years of service as a TVSC school board member. Mr. Conley highlighted their significant accomplishments and presented both with a plaque and a lifetime all sports pass

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, Board Member
Aaron Zolman, Board Member
Thomas Bauters, Board Member
Todd Hoffman, Board Member
Lacey Wise, Board Member