## TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

June 11, 2018 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 7:00 p.m.

## **Minutes**

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Adam Heckaman.

The meeting was called to order by President Adam Heckaman and revealed all members present except for Bryan Murphy. Also present was Brett Boggs, superintendent, Blaine Conley, assistant superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary and student representative Dylan Wood.

Mr. Heckaman announced the upcoming meetings: June 25, 2018, CPF Workshop, Administration Office, 7:00 p.m.; July 9, 2018 Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; August 13, 2018, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; September 10, 2018, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:00 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following new employees were introduced:

- Baylee Hibshman, Math Teacher, TVHS
- Sarah Hoff, Spanish Teacher, TVHS

Mr. Boggs recognized LeAnna Bell and Emily Gearhart as the TVSC Pillar Award for Outstanding Support Staff recipients. Paige Miller was awarded the TVSC World Class Teacher Award.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the May 10, 2018 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the May 14, 2018 regular meeting
- Approval of the hiring for the following personnel:

Baylee Hibshman, Math Teacher, TVHS

Sarah Hoff, Spanish Teacher, TVHS

Accepted the resignation of the following personnel:

Noemi Ponce, Spanish Teacher, TVHS

Melinda Hudson, Instructional Assistant, TVMS

Peggy Keenan, Cook, Mentone Elementary

Jenny Nelson, 6th Grade Girls' Basketball Coach, TVMS

Mike Biddle, Boys' Football Coach, TVMS

Sydnie Reed, 6th Grade Volleyball Coach, TVMS

Kyleigh Gast, 6th Grade Volleyball Coach, TVMS

Approved the maternity leave for the following personnel:

Sarah Kreft, Second Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary

- Approved textbook fees for 2018-2019 school year
- ❖ Approved 2018-2019 school lunch prices
- Approved 2018 summer school contracts
- ❖ Approved amendment to the Kay A. Kindig Memorial Scholarship Fund agreement
- ❖ Approved out-of-state professional leave requests
- Approved stipends for the 2018-2019 TVHS assistant football coaches

Todd Hoffman made the motion to approve the above consent items and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Stan Miller made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: None

## **New Business:**

The Board was asked to accept a donation from DonorChoose.org after a brief presentation from Cathy Olson. Aaron Zolman made a motion to accept the two grants and Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to accept a donation from Rochester Metal Products for Project Valley Safe. Aaron Zolman made the motion to accept the grant and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to accept a grant from the Fulton County Women's Giving Circle. Todd Hoffman made the motion to accept the grant and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Donald Bradley presented to the Board Project Valley Safe. Project Valley Safe is a student-led initiative to provide an emergency bucket in each classroom at Tippecanoe Valley. The emergency bucket would contain emergency medical kits and other essential items needed in the event students are locked down in a classroom for an extended amount of time.

Dylan Wood, student representative, was on hand to provide an update on activities at the High School. Dylan noted that the state FFA convention is coming up. He also noted that summer school was in full swing at the high school.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, President
Aaron Zolman, Vice-President
Stan Miller, Secretary
Todd Hoffman, Board Member
Bryan Murphy, Board Member