TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

May 14, 2018 Akron Elementary School Cafeteria 202 N Rural Street Akron, Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Minutes

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Adam Heckaman.

The meeting was called to order by President Adam Heckaman and revealed all members present along with Brett Boggs, superintendent, Blaine Conley, assistant superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary and student representatives Dylan Wood and Cheyene Oldfather.

Mr. Heckaman announced the upcoming meetings: June 11, 2018, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; July 9, 2018 Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; August 13, 2018, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; Building Trades Open House, Sunday, May 20, 1:00-4:00 p.m.; Burket Alternative Education Program Graduation, Thursday, May 17, 10:00 a.m.; TVHS Graduation, Sunday June 3-Baccalaureate at 2:00 p.m. & commencement at 2:45 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following new employees were introduced:

- Amanda Fannin, Art Teacher, TVMS
- Evan Boggs, Social Studies Teacher, TVMS
- Jennifer Roden, Chemistry & Physics Teacher, TVHS
- Hope Massingale, Social Studies Teacher, TVHS
- Emilie Rospopo, 5th Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary
- Tania Grimes, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, TVSC
- Anna Rich, Corporation Nurse, TVSC
- Cathy Olson, Special Education Teacher, TVMS

The Following groups were recognized from Akron Elementary:

- Circle the State with Song
- Akron Hoosier Spell Bowl Team
- Akron M.A.T.H. Team
- Akron Student Council
- Robotics Team
- Banner Competition

The Fulton County Chamber of Commerce awarded the Akron Elementary School staff the Shining Star Award.

Chad Cripe, Principal at TVHS, recognized Cheyene Oldfather for being nominated for the Indiana Academic All Star Award.

Mr. Cripe also recognized Crystal Heckaman for receiving the STEM Teach III grant.

The following retirees were honored:

Duane Burkhart - Social Studies & Athletic Director - Tippecanoe Valley High School

Deb Day - Science Teacher - Tippecanoe Valley High School

Rod Hamman – Math & Physics Teacher – Tippecanoe Valley High School

Mike Miller – Social Studies Teacher – Tippecanoe Valley High School

Debbie Potter - Corporation Nurse - Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation

Vonda Ryman – Fifth Grade Teacher – Mentone Elementary

Susanne Siebrase - School Counselor - Tippecanoe Valley Middle School

Mr. Boggs presented Lori Stiffler a gift for her years of service and dedication to the cheerleading team at TVHS.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the April 12, 2018 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the April 16, 2018 regular meeting
- ❖ Approval of the hiring for the following personnel:

Amanda Fannin, Art Teacher, TVMS

Erin Miller, Family & Consumer Science Teacher, TVMS

Bradley Williams, Social Studies Teacher, TVMS

Evan Boggs, Social Studies Teacher, TVMS

Jennifer Roden, Chemistry & Physics Teacher, TVHS

Hope Massingale, Social Studies Teacher, TVHS

Emilie Rospopo, 5th Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary

Tania Grimes, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, TVSC

Douglas McNeiley, Custodian, TVMS

Anna Rich, Corporation Nurse, TVSC

Tyler Craft, Summer Technology Technician, TVSC

Izaiah Brown, Summer Technology Technician, TVSC

Approved the following personnel changes:

Cathy Olson, Special Education Teacher, TVMS

Dave Koch, Co-Director of Transportation, TVSC

Lyle Butt, Assistant Bus Mechanic, TVSC

Approved the following extra-curricular assignments:

Jon Hutton, JV Volleyball Coach, TVHS

Randolph Kearby, Assistant Track Coach, TVMS

Accepted the resignation of the following personnel:

Melanie Darling, Speech Language Pathologist, TVSC

Krystyna Martin, Art Teacher, TVMS

Katharina Williamson, Language Arts Teacher, TVHS

Martha Cox, Cook, TVHS

Shayna Fiorucci, Instructional Assistant, TVHS

Cayla Swihart, Instructional Assistant, TVHS

Melissa Holstein, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary

Melinda Kruger, Cook, Akron Elementary

Julie Canada, Instructional Assistant, Akron Elementary

Sara Thomas, Student Council Sponsor, TVMS

LeAnna Bell, Assistant Varsity Cheerleading Coach, TVHS

Lori Stiffler, Varsity Cheerleading Coach, TVHS

Matt Craig, Swim Coach, TVHS

Accepted the retirement of the following personnel:

Mike Miller, Social Studies Teacher, TVHS

Deb Day, Science Teacher, TVHS

- Approved out-of-state professional leave request
- Approved overnight trip for TVHS poultry and livestock judging teams
- ❖ Approved appointment of Janet Morgan to Akron Carnegie Public Library Board

Bryan Murphy made the motion to approve the above consent items and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. Todd Hoffman requested that the approval of Jon Hutton as JV Volleyball coach get pulled from the motion. The motion carried unanimously. Bryan Murphy then made a motion to approve Jon Hutton as JV Volleyball Coach. Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-1.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Todd Hoffman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: The Board was asked to approve the revisions to student, staff, and athletic handbooks for 2018-2019. The Board heard the revisions at the April Board meeting. Stan Miller made a motion to approve the revisions and Aaron Zolman seconded it. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to approve an addition to School Board policy on Naloxone administration that was originally brought to the Board in April. Todd Hoffman made a motion to approve the addition to School Board policy and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

New Business:

The Board was asked to accept two grants from Kosciusko County Community Foundation to support the special education prom at TVHS. Bryan Murphy made a motion to accept the two grants and Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to accept a grant from The Dekko Foundation for new pottery equipment at TVHS. Todd Hoffman made the motion to accept the grant and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Dylan Wood and Cheyene Oldfather, student representatives, were on hand to provide an update on activities at the High School. They noted that finals will be starting next week and sectionals for boys and girls track will be this week.

Cheyene Oldfather was recognized for serving two years as a school board student liaison.

The Board was recognized as an outstanding Board from the Indiana School Boards Association.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, President
Aaron Zolman, Vice-President
Stan Miller, Secretary
Todd Hoffman, Board Member
Bryan Murphy, Board Member