TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

April 16, 2018 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Minutes

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Adam Heckaman.

The meeting was called to order by President Adam Heckaman and revealed all members present along with Brett Boggs, superintendent, Blaine Conley, assistant superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary and student representatives Dylan Wood and Cheyene Oldfather.

Mr. Heckaman announced the upcoming meetings: May 14, 2018, Regular Meeting, Akron Elementary School, 7:00 p.m.; May 20, 2018, Building Trades Open House, 1:00-4:00p.m.; June 11, 2018, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; July 9, 2018, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following new employees were introduced:

- Lori Tilden-Geiger, Director of Marketing, Public Relations, and Grant Writing, TVSC
- April Stiles, School Counselor, TVMS
- Gina Hierlmeier, Athletic Director, TVHS

The Following groups were recognized from Mentone Elementary:

- Student Council
- Math Bowl Team
- Spell Bowl Team
- Spelling Bee Winner & Runner-up
- Reading Club

Andrea Michel, Media Specialist for TVSC, presented to the Board the Indiana Humanities Grant that TVSC received. She, along with Akron Carnegie Library and Bell Memorial Public Library, will host a statewide read of "Frankenstein." Other activities are planned throughout the school and at the libraries to study the relationship between science and society.

Dale Miller was honored for starting the Kurt Miller Ag Scholarship. The scholarship was started to honor Kurt Miller who passed away in 2015. The \$1,000 scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing an agriculture related degree and has participated in 4-H or FFA.

Blaine Conley, Assistant Superintendent, notified the Board that TVSC has been awarded continuing accreditation from the AdvancED Accreditation Commission.

Mr. Boggs presented to the Board that TVHS was named a Performance Qualified High School for the 2017-2018 school year by the Indiana Department of Education and the Office of School Accountability and Accreditation.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- Approval of the minutes of the March 7, 2018 executive session
- Approval of the minutes of the March 12, 2018 regular meeting
- Approval of the hiring for the following personnel:
 - Lori Tilden-Geiger, Director of Marketing, Public Relations and Grant Writing, TVSC April Stiles, School Counselor, TVMS Gina Hierlmeier, Athletic Director, TVHS Allen Aynes, Custodian, TVHS
- Accepted the resignation of the following personnel: Darren Parker, Business Teacher, TVHS Nick Tierney, Special Education Teacher, TVMS Brian Raber, Social Studies Teacher, TVMS
- Accepted the retirement of the following personnel:

Vonda Ryman, 5th Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary Debbie Potter, School Nurse, TVHS Rod Hamman, Math Teacher, TVHS

- Approved out-of-state professional leave request
- Approved overnight trip for TVMS & TVHS wrestling teams
- Approved 2018 summer school

Bryan Murphy made the motion to approve the above consent items and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Aaron Zolman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: None

New Business:

The Board was asked to accept the Indiana Humanities grant. This grant will provide participation in the state-wide book study and celebration of the 200th anniversary of the book "Frankenstein." Todd Hoffman made a motion to accept the grant and Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Cathy Olson, special education teacher at Mentone Elementary School, presented to the Board items she was able to purchase through her Donor Choose grant. The Board was then asked to accept the donorschoose.org project funding. Bryan Murphy made a motion to accept the funding and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to accept the donation of a screen from Da-Lite Screen. The screen was donated to the high school from two employees at Da-Lite who have children at TVSC. Stan Miller made a motion to accept the screen donation and Bryan Murphy seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Ronna Kawsky from the Warsaw Area Career Center was on hand to provide the Board with a presentation on the new Automotive Services Technology class that will be offered this fall at TVHS. This class will offer students up to 12 college credit upon successful completion.

Mr. Dahms, Mr. Backus, and Mr. Cripe presented changes to student and staff handbooks for initial consideration. Final approval of the handbook changes from the Board will be obtained in May.

The Board was asked to review for an initial consideration an addition to School Board Policy on Naloxone administration in schools. The Board will approve the addition in May.

Dylan Wood and Cheyne Oldfather, student representatives, were on hand to provide an update on activities at the High School. Cheyene noted that students will be writing letters to teachers for teacher appreciation week in May and that seniors leave on the senior trip this week. Dylan commented that the FFA banquet is this week and that junior and seniors will be going to Grace College for a college and career fair.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, President

Aaron Zolman, Vice-President

Stan Miller, Secretary

Todd Hoffman, Board Member

Bryan Murphy, Board Member