January 15, 2017 Burket Educational Center 5095 S 700 W Burket, Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Minutes

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Todd Hoffman.

The meeting was called to order by President Todd Hoffman and revealed all members present along with Brett Boggs, superintendent, Blaine Conley, assistant superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary and student representative Dylan Wood.

Mr. Hoffman announced the upcoming meetings: February 12, 2018, Regular Meeting, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, 7:00 p.m.; March 12, 2018, Regular Meeting, Tippecanoe Valley High School, 7:00 p.m.; April 16, 2018, Regular Meeting, Akron Elementary School, 7:00 p.m.

Mr. Hoffman led the reorganization of the school board by first taking nominations for president. Aaron Zolman nominated Adam Heckaman for president and Bryan Murphy seconded the nomination. The nomination for president passed 4-0. Mr. Heckaman then took nominations for vice president. Stan Miller nominated Aaron Zolman for vice president and Todd Hoffman seconded the nomination. The nomination for vice president passed 4-0. Lastly, Mr. Heckaman took nominations for secretary. Bryan Murphy nominated Stan Miller for secretary and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The nomination for secretary passed 4-0.

Mr. Boggs then recommended that the Board approve the appointment of Jessica McFarland, Corporation Treasurer. Stan Miller made the motion and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board then voted on school board meeting times for 2017. Bryan Murphy made the motion to keep the board meetings and work sessions as is. Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion passed with a 5-0 vote. Board meetings will be held the second Monday of each month, starting at 7:00 p.m. The monthly meetings will be held in the Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room except for the meetings held at the individual schools.

Spotlight on the Valley:

Chad Cripe, Principal of TVHS, recognized four juniors that were selected as Rising Stars of Indiana Award winners. Those recipients were Shayleigh Shriver, Elijah Holder, Dylan Wood and Olivia Ellenwood.

Mr. Cripe also recognized Erin Eastgate and Kristen Ekhoff, teachers at TVHS, for receiving the STEM Teach III Grant. The grant will allow them to pursue their Master's Degree and remain dual credit certified. Also recognized were Noemi Ponce and June Yazel for being accepted into the Indiana University ACP program. The ACP program will certify the teachers to offer dual credit classes in Spanish and U.S. History.

Mr. Lukens gave a brief history of Burket Educational Center and highlighted four students for their outstanding accomplishments at Burket.

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- Approval of the minutes of the December 7, 2017 executive session
- Approval of the minutes of the December 11, 2017 regular meeting and executive session
- Approval of the hiring for the following personnel:
 - Nickole Dennis, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary Shaylie Lewandowski, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary Kim Overmyer, Cook, Mentone Elementary Shelly Finney, ECA Treasurer, Akron Elementary Melinda Kruger, Cook, Akron Elementary
- Approval of the following extra-curricular assignments: Amanda Medley, Math Team, Mentone Elementary Vonda Ryman, Math Team, Mentone Elementary
- Accepted the resignation of the following personnel:
 - Sarah Davis, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary Marlo Hudson, Instructional Assistant, Akron Elementary

Chris Jones, Instructional Assistant, Mentone Elementary Dan Thompson, Assistant Track Coach, TVHS

- Accepted the retirement of the following personnel:
 - Brett Boggs, Superintendent, TVSC
- Approved the termination of the following personnel:
- Tania Quintana, Custodian, Akron Elementary
- Appointed of corporation physician
- Appointed Ryan McFarland to Akron Carnegie Public Library Board
- Approved overnight trip-TVHS Wrestling Team Semi-State Tournament
- Approved overnight trip-TVHS Wrestling Team State Tournament
- Approved out-of-state field trip for TVHS seniors
- Approved 2019 TVHS Senior trip
- Approved conflict of interest statements for the following board members Stan Miller Todd Hoffman
 - Bryan Murphy Adam Heckaman

Bryan Murphy made the motion to approve the above consent items and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Todd Hoffman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: Derek Anderson from The Skillman Corporation was on hand to provide an update on the Akron Elementary School project. The project is scheduled to be complete by January 26th.

New Business:

The Board was asked to approve a grant from the SmithStrong Foundation. Stan Miller made the motion to approve the grant and Todd Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs presented the resolution to transfer appropriations to the Board for their approval. After Mr. Boggs read the resolution, Aaron Zolman made a motion and Bryan Murphy seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Dylan Wood, student representative, was on hand to provide an update on activities at the High School. Dylan reported everyone has enjoyed the extended weekend due to the weather cancellations. He also reported that winter sports are in full swing, including archery.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Adam Heckaman, President

Aaron Zolman, Vice-President

Stan Miller, Secretary

Todd Hoffman, Board Member

Bryan Murphy, Board Member