TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

April 17, 2017 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Minutes

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the Mentone Elementary Student Council.

The meeting was called to order by President Todd Hoffman and revealed all members were present along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent, Blaine Conley, assistant superintendent, Jessica McFarland, recording secretary, and Cheyene Oldfather, student representative.

Mr. Hoffman announced the upcoming meetings: May 4, 2017, Board Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; May 8, 2017, Regular Meeting, Akron Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; June 8, 2017, Board Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; June 12, 2017, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.; July 6, 2017 Board Work Session, Administration Office, 6:00 p.m.; July 10, 2017 Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary, 7:00 p.m.

Spotlight on the Valley:

The following new employee was introduced to the Board: Genoveva Ramirez, Foreign Language Teacher, TVHS

The Following groups were recognized from Mentone Elementary:

- Student Council Members
- 5th Grade Office Helpers
- Spelling Bee Participants
- 4th Grade Flag Helpers
- ❖ Spell Bowl 2016
- Math Bowl 2017 Members
- 4th Grade American Legion Essay Winners
- IREAD 3 Perfect Scores

Items from Visitors: None

Approval of Consent Agenda:

- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the March 9, 2017 executive session
- ❖ Approval of the minutes of the March 13, 2017 regular meeting
- ❖ Approval of the hiring for the following personnel:

KayLynn May, Instructional Assistant, TVMS

Tiffny Cornett, Custodian, TVHS

Genoveva Ramirez, Foreign Language Teacher, TVHS

Approval of the following extra-curricular assignments:

Chris Fuller, Assistant Track Coach, TVMS

Jason Rice, Assistant Track Coach, TVHS

Danny Thompson, Assistant Track Coach, TVHS

Joe Secrist, Assistant Track Coach, TVHS

Accepted the resignation of the following personnel:

Darren Parker, Golf Coach, TVHS

Accepted the retirement for the following personnel:

Kimra Eiser, First Grade Teacher, Mentone Elementary

Brenda Vanlaningham, Kindergarten Teacher, Mentone Elementary

Doug Heinold, Industrial Technology Teacher, TVHS

Debbie Hileman, Instructional Assistant, Akron Elementary

- ❖ Approved 2017 summer school and summer camps
- ❖ Approved memorandum of understanding for school resource officer program

Bryan Murphy made the motion to approve the above consent items and Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Adam Heckaman made a motion to approve claims and payroll, as presented. Aaron Zolman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Old Business: Jim Mitterling from The Skillman Corporation was on hand to provide an update on the Akron Elementary School project.

New Business:

The Board was asked to approve the Kosciusko REMC Operation RoundUp grant for Farm to Fork in the amount of \$2000. Bryan Murphy made the motion to approve the grant and Adam Heckaman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Board was asked to approve the PLTW Biomedical Grant from the K21 Health Foundation in the amount of \$28,237. Aaron Zolman made the motion to approve the grant and Stan Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Hutton, Mr. Backus, and Mr. Dahms presented changes to student and staff handbooks for initial consideration. Final approval of the handbook changes from the Board will be obtained in May.

Keith Lang presented to the Board regarding the sale of the used 1:1 devices from the high school. The devices will be sold for \$70 each and will be offered to students first then to the public on a first come, first served basis.

Cheyene Oldfather, student representative, was on hand and provided an update of events happening at the High School. According to Cheyene, the blood drive will be on April 18th, talent show on April 27th and prom will be held on May 6th in Syracuse.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Todd Hoffman, President
Stan Miller, Vice-President
Adam Heckaman, Secretary
Aaron Zolman, Board Member
Bryan Murphy, Board Member