## TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

July 14, 2008 Administration Office Conference Room 7:30 p.m.

## **Minutes**

Prior to calling the meeting to order, Jim Dillinger, Church of Christ, Rochester, led devotions.

The meeting was called to order by President Mark Wise and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Assistant Superintendent and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Hal Hoffman and Dave O'Brien were sworn into office by Sherri Adamson, notary public.

Mr. Wise announced the upcoming meetings: July 28, 2008, Board Budget Workshop, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; August 11, 2008, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; August 25, 2008, Budget Public Hearing, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; September 8, 2008, regular meeting & Budget Adoption, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; and October 13, 2008, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m. The ISBA Fall Conference is scheduled for September 29-30, 2008 in Indianapolis.

The annual meeting opened with reorganization of the School Board. Mr. Wise asked for nominations for President. Rod Eaton made a motion to nominate Bryan Murphy as President. Hal Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Dave O'Brien made a motion to close the nominations for President. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion to close. Bryan Murphy elected President 5-0.

Mr. Hoffman motioned to nominate Rod Eaton as Vice President. Mr. Wise seconded the nomination. Mr. Wise made a motion to close the nominations for Vice President. Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion to close. Rod Eaton elected Vice President 5-0.

Mr. O'Brien motioned to nominate Dave O'Brien as Secretary. Mr. Eaton seconded the nomination. Mr. O'Brien made a motion to close the nominations for Secretary. Mr. Wise seconded the motion to close. Dave O'Brien elected Secretary 5-0.

Mr. Wise made a motion to appoint Sherri Adamson, Corporation Treasurer, and Linda Murphy, Deputy Treasurer. Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. O'Brien made a motion to set regular meetings on the second Monday of each month at Mentone School, while attempting to have a meeting at each of the school buildings during the school year with all meetings beginning at 7:30 p.m. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Hoffman made a motion to appoint Dr. Francisco Negreros as the corporation physician (Exhibit A). Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

After President Bryan Murphy read the consent agenda, Mr. Hoffman made a motion to approve the following: approved the minutes of June 9, 2008, regular meeting and executive session; approved the minutes of June 23, 2008, CPF Budget Workshop; accepted the resignation of: Katie Ewers, Special Education Teacher and Head Swim Coach, TVHS; Ivy Lyvers, Volleyball, TVMS; and Linda Weller, Grade 5 Teacher, Akron; approved hiring the following personnel: Ty Bahney, part time custodian, TVMS; Deb Johnston, Special Education Teacher, TVHS; Hillary Parker, Grade 3 Teacher, Akron; Kelley Rensberger, Special Education Teacher, TVMS; Cami Leininger Shriver, Special Education Teacher, TVHS; Miriel Speicher, Grade 7 Social Studies, TVMS; and Christine Tinkey, ECA Treasurer, TVHS; approved contracts with Beaver Dam Pre School, Area Five Head Start, and Kosciusko County Head Start/Cardinal Center; approved conflict of interest statements for Dr. Daniel Kramer, Mark Wise and Bryan Murphy. Mr. Wise seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL BOARD Minutes July 14, 2008 Page 2 of 2

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll (Exhibit F) and asked for approval. Mr. Wise made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Mr. O'Brien made a motion to approve changes to School Board Policy – Special Education. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

In other new business, Mr. O'Brien made a motion to appoint Mr. Brett R. Boggs, Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation, Superintendent; approved the hiring of Shelly Shambaugh, Grade 5 Teacher, Akron; and approve Summer School Session II contracts for 2008. Mr. Wise seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Bryan Murphy, President
Rod Eaton, Vice President
Dave O'Brien, Secretary
Hal Hoffman, Member
Mark Wise, Member