<u>Minutes</u>

The meeting was called to order by President Bryan Murphy and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. Murphy announced the upcoming meetings: July 27, 2009, Budget Work Session, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; August 10, 2009, regular meeting, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; August 27, 2009, Budget Public Hearing, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; September 14, 2009, regular meeting & Budget Adoption, Mentone, 7:30 p.m. and September 28-29, 2009, ISBA Fall Conference, Indianapolis.

The annual meeting opened with reorganization of the School Board. Mr. Murphy asked for nominations for President, declining to continue as President due to his current work schedule. Hal Hoffman made a motion to nominate Dave O'Brien as President. Mark Wise seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Rod Eaton made a motion to close the nominations for President. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion to close. Dave O'Brien elected President 5-0.

Mr. Murphy motioned to nominate Hal Hoffman as Vice President. Mr. Eaton seconded the nomination. Mr. Wise made a motion to close the nominations for Vice President. Hal Hoffman elected Vice President 5-0.

Mr. Murphy motioned to nominate Mark Wise as Secretary. Mr. Eaton seconded the nomination. Mr. Hoffman made a motion to close the nominations for Secretary. Mark Wise elected Secretary 5-0.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to appoint Sherri Adamson, Corporation Treasurer, and Linda Murphy, Deputy Treasurer. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Wise made a motion to set regular meetings on the second Monday of each month at Mentone School, while attempting to have a meeting at each of the school buildings during the school year with all meetings beginning at 7:30 p.m. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Hoffman made a motion to appoint Dr. Francisco Negreros as the corporation physician (Exhibit A). Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

During Spotlight on the Valley, Mr. Boggs read a letter from U.S. Senator Richard Lugar commending Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation for their participation in the Summer Food Service Program.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of June 8, 2009, regular meeting and executive session; approved the minutes of June 29, 2009, CPF Budget Workshop; approved the hiring of the following personnel: Crystal Heckman, Earth Space Science, .5 FTE, TVHS; Jenny Stiffler, Grade 5 Teacher, Akron; and Abby Turner, Grade 4 Teacher, Akron; accepted the resignation of Heather Ramsey, Volleyball, TVHS and Erin Workman, Teacher, Akron; approved Matt Mobley, Boys' Tennis Coach, TVHS; approved Sunday Afternoon Facility Use request from Tippecanoe Valley Aquatics Club; approved contracts with Beaver Dam Pre School, Area Five Head Start, and Kosciusko County Head Start/Cardinal Center; approved conflict of interest statements for Dr. Daniel Kramer, Mark Wise and Bryan Murphy. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll (Exhibit H) and asked for approval. Mr. Eaton made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Alan Stewart, Hattersley, reported on the progress at Burket Educational Center indicating on schedule or ahead on many areas.

John Zaharis, CenterPoint Energy, presented to the Board a history on the consortium formed by area schools in their efforts to reduce heating costs. Mr. Zaharis indicated since Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation has joined the consortium in March 2006, the school corporation has seen near \$23,000 in savings compared to doing business with NIPSCO.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the purchase of 2010 School Buses (3) unless there is a significant increase in pricing compared to the current price paid. Mr. Wise seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

In other new business, Mr. Hoffman made a motion to appoint Jill Gross to the Mentone Bell Memorial Library Board. Also, accept the resignation of Michelle Shepherd, Special Need Teacher, TVHS. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Dave O'Brien, President

Hal Hoffman, Vice President

Mark Wise, Secretary

Rod Eaton, Board Member

Bryan Murphy, Board Member