<u>Minutes</u>

The meeting was called to order by President Dave O'Brien and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. O'Brien announced the upcoming meetings: August 1, 2011, Budget Workshop, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; August 8, 2011, Regular Meeting, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; September 1, 2011, Budget Public Hearing, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; September 12, 2011, Regular Meeting, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; September 26-27, 2011, ISBA Fall Conference, Indianapolis; October 10, 2011, Regular Meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.

Bryan Murphy was sworn into office by Sherri Adamson, notary public.

The annual meeting opened with reorganization of the School Board. Mr. O'Brien asked for nominations for President. Hal Hoffman made a motion to nominate Mark Wise as President. Rod Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Hal Hoffman made a motion to close the nominations for President. Bryan Murphy seconded the motion to close. Mark Wise elected President 5-0.

Mr. Murphy motioned to nominate Rod Eaton as Vice President. Mr. Hoffman seconded the nomination. Mr. O'Brien made a motion to close the nominations for Vice President. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion to close. Rod Eaton elected Vice President 5-0.

Mr. Murphy motioned to nominate Hal Hoffman as Secretary. Mr. Eaton seconded the nomination. Mr. Murphy made a motion to close the nominations for Secretary. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion to close. Hal Hoffman elected Secretary 5-0.

Mr. O'Brien made a motion to appoint Sherri Adamson, Corporation Treasurer, and Linda Murphy, Deputy Treasurer. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to set regular meetings on the second Monday of each month at Mentone School, while attempting to have a meeting at each of the school buildings during the school year and at the Administration Office during the summer months with all meetings beginning at 7:30 p.m. Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to appoint Dr. Francisco Negreros as the corporation physician (Exhibit A). Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Eaton made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of June 13, 2011, regular meeting and executive sessions; approved hiring the following personnel: Stephanie Anglin, Guidance Counselor, TVHS; Todd Glenn, Maintenance Director; Jeffrey Sprunger, Social Studies Teacher, TVMS; Sara Thomas, Language Arts Teacher, TVMS; Sarah Tillman, Spanish Teacher, TVHS; Allen Utter, Technology Lab Teacher, TVMS; approved maternity leave requests for Cami Shriver, TVHS and Susan Walker, Akron; accepted the resignation of Jennifer Placeway, Special Education PreSchool Teacher, Mentone and Mike Schmidt, Assistant Principal, TVHS; accepted a donation from United Way of Kosciusko County for Elementary After School Programs; approved the purchase of school buses; approved contract with the following: Beaver Dam Pre School, Area Five Head Start; Kosciusko County Head Start/Cardinal Center and Athletic Trainer agreement with Kosciusko County Community Hospital; approved conflict of interest statements for Dr. Daniel Kramer, Mark Wise, and Bryan Murphy. Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Being no old business, Kirsten Horrell, TVSC Literacy Coach, presented to the Board the Elementary Reading Plan for Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation as required by law to begin with the 2011-2012 school year. The new statute requires all students leaving grade 3 the ability to read at grade 3 level. Ninety minutes of uninterrupted reading is required along with a standardize assessment, IREAD3, to be administered in March. Mandatory summer school and retention, along with interventions, will be implemented for students not passing the assessment.

Alissa Trippiedi, TVHS Graduation Coach, reviewed the program for the school year. She concluded that the program has been extremely successful with a 92% passing rate and the relationship built with one-on-one guidance have been rewarding.

Steve Bluhm, Performance Services, reported on the progress of the installation of the wind turbine at the TVSC campus. Mr. Bluhm indicated the access road was completed Saturday and excavation of the wind turbine area will begin this week. The excavation area will be at a depth of 15 feet in order to place concrete and the can section for the turbine. Timeline is current for a September 1 installation and 60 days of testing. Mr. Hoffman asked about security of the work area. This will be addressed by TVSC. Portals for cell phone towers will be pursued after the turbine is operational.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Mark Wise, President

Rod Eaton, Vice President

Hal Hoffman, Secretary

Bryan Murphy, Board Member

Dave O'Brien, Board Member