TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

June 11, 2012 Administration Office 8343 S. State Road 19 Akron, Indiana 7:30 p.m.

Minutes

The meeting was called to order by President Mark Wise and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Dr. Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. Wise announced the upcoming meetings: July 9, 2012, regular meeting, TVSC Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; August 13, 2012, regular meeting, TVSC Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; September 10, 2012, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, the following retirees were recognized: Jeff France; Kay Garrett; Lora Harp; Susie Kinney; William Leininger; Pam McFarland; Linda Murphy; Earl Richter; Peggy Schuldt; and Rebecca Smith. The TVHS Art Department was also recognized for its recent Design-an-Ad contest winners along with Brody Cook, TVSC School Board Student Representative, who is the recipient of the Paul Shaffer Junior Achievement Scholarship for IPFW.

Bryan Murphy made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of the May 14, 2012, regular meeting and executive session; approved the minutes of the March 26, 2012, executive session; approved hiring the following personnel: Dana Clutter, Special Education Teacher, Akron; Autum Estep, part time Custodian, Mentone; Chaitra Jewell, Special Education Teacher, Akron; Chantel Minear; Spanish, TVHS; approved small claim representatives for Fulton and Kosciusko Counties; approved textbook rental fees for 2012-2013 school year; approved 2012 Summer School contracts; approved extension of administrative contracts; approved overnight camp for TVHS Cheerleaders. Dave O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll (Exhibit A) and asked for approval. Hal Hoffman made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Rod Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

There being no old business, Angie Summers, Program Manager, Kids Smile Kosciusko Program, presented information on screening and assistance available for Kindergarten through Grade 3 students at Kosciusko County schools.

George Robertson, Director, Kosciusko Economic Development Corporation, addressed the Board of the needs of the community for work force growth. Mr. Robertson indicated schools need to provide career guidance for students and develop communication skills needed for team building in the workplace.

Mr. Eaton made a motion to accept a non-fiction reading material grant from The DEKKO Foundation for \$10,000. The grant was proposed by Andrea Michel, Elementary Media Specialist. Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

	Mark Wise, President
	Rod Eaton, Vice President
	Hal Hoffman, Secretary
	Bryan Murphy, Member
	Dave O'Brien, Member