<u>Minutes</u>

The meeting was called to order by President Dave O'Brien and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. O'Brien announced the upcoming meetings: May 16, 2010, Builders' Trades Open House, 1:00-4:00 p.m.; June 6, 2010, TVHS Graduation; June 14, 2010, regular meeting, Tippecanoe Valley School Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; and July 12, 2010, regular meeting, Tippecanoe Valley School Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.; August 9, 2010, regular meeting, Tippecanoe Valley School Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.;

During Spotlight on Valley, Mrs. Catherine Miller, Principal, Mentone Elementary School recognized the following:

- Mentone Elementary Spell Bowl Team
- Mentone Math Team
- Mentone Elementary School Student Council
- Mentone Elementary School Spelling Bee Champion and Runner-up: Braydon Ott and Dylan Warner
- Dylan Warner, David Deuter Memorial Essay Contest Winner

Rod Eaton made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of the April 19, 2010, regular meeting and executive session; approved hiring the following personnel: Michael Clouser, Full Time Custodian, TVHS; Amanda Cooper, Grade 6 Cheerleader Coach, TVMS; Robert Nette, Part Time Custodian, TVMS; Nikki Rutherford, Head Cook, Mentone; accepted the following resignations: Angela Flenar, Instructional Assistant, TVHS; Roger Moriarty, JV Girls' Basketball Coach, TVHS and Gary Teel, Varsity Girls' Basketball Coach, TVHS; accepted the retirements of: Lucy Gaff, Bonnie Kramer, Sandy Moriarty, and Marlene Nellans; approved overnight trips for TVHS Varsity Baseball to Jay County Tourney and TVHS Football Team to Manchester College Team Camp; accepted donations from: Wabash Valley Manufacturing for trash receptacles and Views of Learning for Distance Learning Equipment. Bryan Murphy seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Hal Hoffman made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mark Wise seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Being no items from the visitors, Mr. Wise made a motion to approve the changes to the Student Handbooks for 2010-2011 school year as presented at the April meeting. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Wise asked about the status of the wind energy projects. Mr. Boggs indicated a meeting is scheduled with Performance Services and Kosciusko County REMC. Mr. Boggs will be updating the Board at the June meeting.

In other new business, Mrs. Angie Miller, Curriculum Director, presented the IMAP Mentoring Program currently being utilized in the corporation. IMAP was developed by a TVSC committee upon the Indiana Department of Education authorizing local corporation to develop an in-house program. The program requires all first year teachers to work closely with an appointed mentor and models active communication with the building principal for two year.

The Board discussed the admission of Rochester Community Schools to the North Central Indiana Special Education Cooperative. Mrs. Donna Lehmann, Director of Special Services, indicated the Superintendents of the five current corporations and two school boards, Warsaw and Bremen, have approved the admission.

Rochester Community Schools, currently with the JESSE program, have been evaluated by an outside vendor and a rubric developed by NCI. Mrs. Lehmann indicated the strengths of RCS is a strong and committed staff, model for therapy admittance with speech and hearing therapist, and placement of special needs students in the New Tech High School.

Mr. Boggs shared that other superintendents were concerned about costs and indicated no interest unless the admission is cost neutral. He understood that RCS will carry excess costs and/or some type of by-in to NCI.

Mr. Eaton shared his concerns with the current assets held by NCI and RCS access to those assets. "Fund 130", established upon the decentralization of the cooperative and the sale of property, we remain the property of the five establishing corporation.

The Board will vote on admission of Rochester Community Schools to the North Central Indiana Special Education Cooperative at the June 14, 2010 meeting.

Mr. Murphy approved the non-renewal of the teaching contracts of April Stiles and Crystal Heckaman for the 2010-2011 school year and the cancellation of Marsha King's teaching contract effective at the end of the current school year. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

There being no other business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned.

Dave O'Brien, President

Hal Hoffman, Vice President

Mark Wise, Secretary

Rod Eaton, Board Member

Bryan Murphy, Board Member