TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

April 18, 2011 Akron Elementary School Cafeteria/School Library 202 E. Rural Street Akron, Indiana 7:30 p.m.

Minutes

The meeting was called to order by President Dave O'Brien and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; Sherri Adamson, recording secretary and Stephanie Shriver and Brody Cook, Student Representative.

Mr. O'Brien announced the upcoming meetings: May 9, 2011, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; May 15, 2011, Builders' Trades Open House, 1:00-4:00 p.m.; May 26, 2011, Burket Graduation, 1:00 p.m.; June 13, 2011, regular meeting, Administration Office, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, Mr. Blaine Conley, Principal, Akron Elementary School recognized the following: Laura Martinez, Akron Elementary School Fifth Grade Spelling Bee Winner; individual students achieving at ISTEP; the Akron Parent Support Group; M.A.T.H. Team; Akron Pride Council; and the Akron Hoosier Spell Bowl Team.

Hal Hoffman made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of the March 14, 2011, regular meeting and executive session; approved the minutes of the April 2, 2011 special session; approved the minutes of the April 11, 2011 Lease hearing and executive session; approved hiring Melinda Cabrera as head custodian at Akron Elementary School; approved the following extra curricular assignments: Mike Inglehearn, Head Cross Country Coach, TVHS; Dwight Shewman, Assistant Softball Coach, TVHS; Lorene Teel, Assistant Track Coach, TVMS; Kara Tucker, Assistant Tennis Coach, TVHS; and Abby Turner, Head Volleyball Coach, TVHS; accepted the following resignations: Shelly Feldman, Assistant Track, TVMS and Miriel McFarland, Teacher, TVMS; accepted the retirement of Rickey Phillips, Teacher, TVMS; accepted the following Kosciusko Endowment Youth Services (KEYS) Grants: Shelly Engle, Akron, Kindle, \$168.99; Karla Hayden, Mentone, Reader Theater Scripts, \$250.00; Cami Shriver, TVHS, Boomerang Backpack Program, \$1000.00; Scott Bibler, TVHS, Guidance Library, \$500.00; approved 2011 Summer Camps/Programs and Summer School Programs; accepted \$500.00 donation from Biomet to Tippecanoe Valley Athletic Department; approved out-of-state conference request for Brad Hagg to Philadelphia, PA. Bryan Murphy seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mark Wise made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Rod Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

- Mr. Boggs presented the financial report.
- Mr. Hoffman made a motion to uphold the Expulsion Examiner's action in case number 010-11-006. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.
- Mr. Conley and Earl Richter, Principal, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, presented their student handbook changes for the 2011-2012 school year. Mr. Eaton inquired the need for additional steps to be added to the discipline plan. The approval of the handbook changes will be brought to the next meeting.
- Mr. Hoffman made a motion to accept the resignation of Karly Arens, Spanish Teacher, TVHS. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion. Mr. Boggs commented the leaving of Miss Arens is a huge loss for the high school and we wish her only the best. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.
- Mr. Wise made a motion to approve the Master Calendar for the 2011-2012 School Year, as presented. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.
- Mr. Wise congratulated Stephanie Shriver for receiving the 2011 Lilly Scholarship.

Student Representatives Stephanie Shriver and Brody Cook reported on the upcoming prom on May 7 and Washington D.C. senior trip to leave this week.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Dave O'Brien, President
Mark Wise, Vice President
Hal Hoffman, Secretary
Rod Eaton, Board Member
Bryan Murphy, Board Member