<u>Minutes</u>

The meeting was called to order by President Dave O'Brien and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. O'Brien announced the upcoming meetings: March 8, 2010, regular meeting, Tippecanoe Valley High School, 7:30 p.m.; April 19, 2010, regular meeting, Akron Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; May 10, 2010, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, Mr. Earl Richter, Principal, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School recognized the following:

- TVMS band members who participated in either District Solo and Ensemble and/or Three Rivers Honor Band
- TVMS Geography Bowl Team, Running Rivers Conference, 2nd place
- TVMS Spelling Team, Running Rivers Conference, Champions
- TVMS Grade 7 & 8 Football, Running Rivers Conference, Champions
- Elizabeth Shepherd, student, 2010 Kosciusko County Spelling Champion
- TVMS Viking PASS Program
- TVMS Positive Behavior System (PBS)

Mr. Boggs recognized Jane Hunn, teacher, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, who recently served as the 2010 Conference Chair for Hoosier Association of Science Teachers, Inc. as past president of the Association.

Hal Hoffman made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of the January 18, 2010, regular meeting and executive session; accepted the retirement of Larry Floor, bus driver; approved the following resignations: Brandon Cody, JV Baseball, TVHS; Holly Howell, Instructional Assistant, TVMS; Lisa Nordman, Instructional Assistant, TVHS; and Lori Shepherd, Instructional Assistant, Mentone; and approved the maternity leave request for Ivy Lyvers, TVHS. Rod Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Mark Wise made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Bryan Murphy seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

During old business, Mr. Boggs asked the Board to table to the discussion of the 2010-11 Master School Calendar due to the potential impact of Senate Bill 150, currently in legislature. SB 150 is proposed to prohibit the school year to begin before Labor Day and end after June 10.

In new business, Mrs. Angie Miller, Curriculum Director, shared with the board the outstanding student progress for student reading skills as measured by use of M-Class and Scholastic Reading Inventory throughout the corporation. Mrs. Miller expressed her appreciation to the Board and Administration for their patience as they allowed the implementation of the programs to demonstrate a solid, consistent growth of student success.

Mr. Kirk Doehrmann, principal, Tippecanoe Valley High School, presented to the Board the Professional Career Internship Program which will be implemented in the 2010-2011 School Year. The program is open to junior and senior students allowing two class periods of internship in local businesses. The instructional portion of the program is being collaborated with Rochester Community Schools and partnered with Rochester and Warsaw businesses. Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation is pending grant approval to assist in funding the distance learning equipment.

Also, Mr. Doehrmann informed the Board of changes to student rankings to begin with the graduating class of 2011. Due to the high school's ability to weight classes based on academic structure, rankings will not be based on type of diploma being sought, but strictly on grade point average (GPA). Mr. Wise asked the importance of GPA or rankings when seeking entrance to post secondary institutions. Mr. Doehrmann acknowledged that rankings are a factor in scholarship awards, but most institutions do not consider GPAs entirely for entrance.

Mr. Boggs presented to the Board for first reading revisions to School Board Policy – Education Record. The revisions will be presented at the March meeting for approval.

Mr. Hoffman made a motion, which was seconded by Mr. Murphy, to accept the retirement of Marilyn Ruberg, teacher, Akron. Motion carried unanimously.

There being no other business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned.

Dave O'Brien, President

Hal Hoffman, Vice President

Mark Wise, Secretary

Rod Eaton, Board Member

Bryan Murphy, Board Member