## **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order by President Dave O'Brien and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; Sherri Adamson, recording secretary; and student representatives Susy Contreras and Stephanie Shriver.

Mr. O'Brien announced the upcoming meetings: January 18, 2010, regular meeting, Burket Educational Center, 7:30 p.m.; February 8, 2010, regular meeting, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, 7:30 p.m. and March 8, 2010, regular meeting, Tippecanoe Valley High School, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, the School Board recognized Akron Elementary School students for participation in Hoosier Cheer for Our Heroes program.

Bryan Murphy made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of the November 9, 2009, regular meeting and executive session; approved the following personnel: Selena Johnston, Instructional Assistant and Tom Williams, Part Time Custodian, Mentone; approved the following extra curricular assignments: Bobby Adams, Grade 6 Boys' Basketball and Aaron Walters, Grade 6 Girls' Basketball, TVMS; approved maternity leave request for Cami Leininger; approved out-of-state conference requests for: Ben Rogers and Darren Parker, National Business Education Association and Amy Bode and Jon Ekhoff, National Association of School Psychologist; accepted KEYS Grants for Vonda Ryman, Deb Tillman and Deb Miller. Rod Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mark Wise, who asked to remove the approval of the Resolution and Adoption Agreement to Participate in Indiana Public Employee Deferred Compensation Plan from the consent agreement, shared his unwillingness to support the resolution and adoption due to the limited scope of the plan. As presented, the plan is open only to administrators of the corporation. Hal Hoffman agreed with Mr. Wise and felt as though the corporation already had enough of these types of plans available.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the Resolution and Adoption Agreement to Participate in the Indiana Public Employee Deferred Compensation Plan. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried 3-2. Opposed: Hal Hoffman and Mark Wise.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll and asked for approval. Mr. Wise made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

In old business, the change to School Board Policy – Family Medical Leave for second reading was presented. Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the School Board Policy – Family Medical Leave changes. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs presented for first reading the addition to School Board Policy – Registered Sex Offenders. Mr. Boggs reviewed the policy explaining the limited access of registered sex offenders, both adults and students, on school property. This Policy addition will be brought to the January meeting for second reading and approval. Mr. Boggs summarized for the Board a competitive grant program, "Race to the Top", which will be funded through American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Grants will be awarded to individual states and distributed to Local Education Agencies (LEA) for implementation of proposed plans.

Indiana schools must complete a Model Participating LEA Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) which will be available on December 18, 2009. The state has released a copy of the MOU released by the United States Department of Education (USDOE) for review by LEAs. Signing the MOU does not commit a LEA to the program, at this time.

Mr. Hoffman made a motion to approve Brett Boggs, Superintendent, and Dave O'Brien, School Board President, to sign the Memorandum of Understanding when released by the Indiana Department of Education as long as there is little deviation from the USDOE model MOU. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

In other new business, Mr. Wise made a motion to approve non-permanent fund agreement between Northern Indiana Community Foundation and Tippecanoe Valley High School for the Backpack Boomerang program. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Student Representatives Susy Contreras and Stephanie Shriver reported on upcoming events at the high school: Helping Hands concluding this week; Bake Sale at swim meet on Wednesday for Kenneth Surface Fundraiser; Shop with Kids Program is scheduled for tomorrow.

There being no other business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned.

Dave O'Brien, President

Hal Hoffman, Vice President

Mark Wise, Secretary

Rod Eaton, Board Member

Bryan Murphy, Board Member