## TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

October 8, 2012

Mentone Elementary School

Yale and Jackson Streets

Mentone, Indiana
7:30 p.m.

## **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order by President Mark Wise and revealed all members present along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Dr. Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. Wise announced the upcoming meetings: November 12, 2012, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m. and December 10, 2012, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, Mr. Boggs recognized Ben Shriver, Casimir Kromkowski, and Mitch Randall as members of the newly reorganized Prill School Museum Association Board.

Bryan Murphy made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of the September 10, 2012, regular meeting and executive sessions; approved hiring the following personnel: Cheryl Bowyer, Instructional Assistant, Little Vikings PreSchool, Mentone; Billy Gillman, part time Custodian, Akron; Sarah Moore, Instructional Assistant, Mentone; Kayla Rassi, Technology Director, TVSC; Dena Reed, Instructional Assistant, Akron; Toni Shambaugh, Secretary, Burket Educational Center; Sarah Tillman, Middle School Success Coach, TVMS; approved maternity leave request for Krystyna Martin, Teacher, TVMS; approved Jane Hunn to the Steering Committee, TVSC; and approve Classified Salaries for 2012-2013 school year. Dave O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll (Exhibit A) and asked for approval. Rod Eaton made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Hal Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

There being no old business, Mr. Boggs reported the 2012-2013 official student enrollment as 1981 students.

Doug Heinold, Drivers Education Director, requested the Board approve the proposal of a Fall Drivers Education Program. The program fee will be \$275.00, instructor fee \$24.00, a minimum of 20 students with a maximum of 30 students. The fall program will allow for night time driving which students are required to have at least 10 hours of night time driving. Deadline for registration will be October 19, 2012. Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the program as presented. Mr. O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Kirk Doehrmann, Principal, TVHS, presented to the Board the principals of the newly formed Valley Foundation through the Northern Indiana Community Foundation. The Foundation will impact current students with the formation of internships and committees and allow for grant development to enhance the Valley community. Funding will be established and implemented through the NICF.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve an out-of-state field trip to Chicago for TVHS students and an overnight trip for TVHS Student Council members. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion approved unanimously.

Mr. O'Brien made a motion to approve Sunday use of TVSC facilities for AAU basketball. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs distributed information on the upcoming Community Conversation and encourage Board members to attend the event.

Mr. Wise indicated the Board members recently attended the Indiana School Boards Association fall conference and shared his learning of a parent tool for reading that is available on the Department of Education website.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

 Mark Wise, President
Rod Eaton, Vice President
 Hal Hoffman, Secretary
 Bryan Murphy, Member
 Dave O'Brien, Member