TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION October 11, 2010 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 301 E Jackson Street Mentone, Indiana 7:30 p.m.

Minutes

The meeting was called to order by President Dave O'Brien and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent and Sherri Adamson, recording secretary.

Mr. O'Brien announced the upcoming meetings: November 8, 2010, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; December 13, 2010, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; January 17, 2011, regular meeting, Burket Educational Center, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, Mr. Boggs recognized the students of the 2010 graduating class who participated in SAT testing making their scores among the best in the state of Indiana. Mr. Boggs also recognized teachers Scott Backus, Michelle DeBaets, and Jon Ekhoff who presented at the AdvancEd Fall Conference held recently.

Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the consent agenda as follows: approved the minutes of September 13, 2010, Budget Adoption, regular meeting, and executive session; approved hiring the following instructional assistants: Julie Canada, Akron; Chad Litten, Mentone; Christopher Rassi, Mentone; Kelsey Reed, TVHS; Kara Robinson, Akron; and Kara Tucker, Mentone; approved the termination of employment of Laura Wittner, part time custodian, Mentone. Mr. Wise seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Hoffman made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Being no further discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Being no items from the visitors or old business, Earl Richter, Principal, Tippecanoe Valley Middle School, reviewed the Indiana Science Initiative Program being piloted at the middle school this year. Summer training provided by the Lilly Foundation was attended by teachers Bill Leininger, Jane Hunn, and Michelle DeBaets, along with Mr. Richter. The hands-on program was reviewed by Mr. Leininger and comments were made by students: Jarod Mikel; Henry Howard, and Kennedy Niedbalski.

In other new business, Mr. Boggs reported on the official enrollment of Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation for the 2010-2011 school year at 2089 students; reminded the Board of the Educational Summit sponsored by Warsaw Kosciusko County Chamber of Commerce to be held November 16th; Tippecanoe Valley High School to host the Volleyball sectionals on October 19, 21, and 23.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Dave O'Brien, President
Mark Wise, Vice President
Hal Hoffman, Secretary
Rod Eaton, Board Member
Bryan Murnhy Board Member