TIPPECANOE VALLEY SCHOOL CORPORATION

October 10, 2011 Mentone Elementary School Public Meeting Room 7:30 p.m.

Minutes

Prior to calling the meeting to order, Terry Canfield, Akron Church of God, led devotions.

The meeting was called to order by President Mark Wise and revealed all members present; along with Brett Boggs, Superintendent; Dr. Daniel Kramer, Assistant Superintendent; Sherri Adamson, recording secretary and student representatives Brody Cook and Courtney Newsome.

Mr. Wise announced the upcoming meetings: November 14, 2011, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; and December 12, 2011, regular meeting, Mentone Elementary School, 7:30 p.m.; January 16, 2012, regular meeting, Burket Educational Center, 7:30 p.m.

During Spotlight on Valley, Mr. Wise commended Corporation Treasurer Sherri Adamson and Deputy Treasurer Linda Murphy for the recent State Board of Accounts audit results. He included the auditors gave high praise to the work performed and were impressed with the efficiency and organization of the business office. Sherri Adamson added "we enjoy the work and take great pride in our work".

Mr. Wise also recognized student representatives Brody Cook and Courtney Newsome as members of the Homecoming court.

Rod Eaton announced four Board Members recently attended the Indiana School Boards Association annual conference in Indianapolis.

Mr. Eaton made a motion to approve the consent agenda, as follows: approved the minutes of the September 11, 2011, Budget Adoption, regular meeting, and executive session; approved hiring Brenda Alderfer, Instructional Assistant at Mentone and Holly Egolf, Bus Driver; approved the following resignations: Leslie Brouyette, Grade 6 Girls' Basketball, TVMS; Erin Flores, Instructional Assistant, TVHS; Dan Franklin SADD Sponsor, TVHS; Leslie Reyes, Instructional Assistant, TVHS; approved maternity leave request for Kristen Ekhoff, Teacher, TVHS; approved overnight trip for TVHS Student Council; approved out-of-state conference for Deb Zawlocki, TVHS; approved Senior Trip to Washington D.C.; and approve FFA Summer 2011 Compensation. Hal Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Scott Smith, Teacher, TVHS, gave a brief description of the plans for an International Educational Trip in the summer of 2013. Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the trip. Dave O'Brien seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed claims and payroll (Exhibit A) and asked for approval. Mr. Murphy made a motion to approve the claims and payroll, as presented. Mr. Hoffman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boggs reviewed the Financial Report for the Board.

Mr. Boggs stated that the official enrollment for the 2011-2012 school year is 2058 students. Mr. Wise addressed his concerns regarding the imbalance between the elementary schools enrollments. Mr. Boggs indicated he had met with Dr. Kramer and they had discussed the imbalance and felt like it was acceptable.

Mr. Boggs reported on the status of the installation of the wind turbine. He indicated cranes for assembly and installation are arriving this week with assembly and installation to begin next week. Performance Services will have a representative at the site to describe the process to visitors in the public viewing area.

In other new business, Mr. Hoffman made a motion to approve hiring Brandi Davis, Instructional Assistant at Mentone and the appointment of Ryan Moore, Head Baseball Coach at the high school and Darci Walters, Grade 6 Girls' Basketball Assistant Coach at the middle school. Mr. Murphy seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. O'Brien made a motion to approve an out-of-state conference request for Kristen Horrell and June Yazel to Chicago, Illinois. Mr. Eaton seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Brody Cook and Courtney Newsome, student representatives, reported that Homecoming activities last week went extremely well and all work together.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.	
Mark Wise, President	Bryan Murphy, Member
Rod Eaton, Vice President	Dave O'Brien, Member
Hal Hoffman, Secretary	